Primer on Rules of Origin - ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area

22/10/2009    184

Time: October 2009

By: ASEAN Secretariat


"The Agreement Establishing the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) is a significant milestone for the economies of the ten Member States of ASEAN, Australia and New Zealand. This Agreement is the culmination of a series of consultations and negotiations that started in 2005. The Agreement was signed in February 2009 and will enter into force on 1 January 2010.

The Agreement, through the chapters relating to merchandise trade, is expected to open up business opportunities for traders and exporters that would benefit both the economic operators and consumers. In this connection, understanding the Rules of Origin will ensure that producers, traders and exporters get optimal benefits from the preferential tariff treatment under the Agreement.

This primer intends to reach out to economic operators in ASEAN and explain to them the Rules of Origin they would need to fulfil for their goods to be eligible for preferential tariff treatment under the AANZFTA. The primer also sets out the processes that would be undertaken by the authorities to determine compliance to the Rules of Origin.

We hope the primer will guide traders and exporters in understanding the elements of the AANZFTA Rules of Origin, and encourage them to utilise and benefit from the AANZFTA.

As ASEAN embarks on the implementation of the AANZFTA, we encourage traders and exporters to take full advantage of the opportunities being offered under the AANZFTA and bring forth economic prosperity to the region."

Please download the document (English and Vietnamese version) here